Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Huge phone bill because of long-distance calls

Max_1986
I'm a participant level 2

Hi guys

Need suggestion. I overused my long-distance minutes in fido so they charged me $968+tax more than my bill. It was my mistake :(. My mom is sick in India so I had to make many calls in the last few weeks, initially, we thought she got covid but thank god its not covid but she had to go to hospital multiple times for tests and scans. As I’m a bio student so I had to explain about my mom’s health treatments. I talk to the doctor over the phone and explain to my family about it.

With this stress, I couldn’t track the long-distance minutes usage…

I get a notification when I was about to hit my data limit and for long-distance calling I didn’t receive any warning so I was not aware of my minutes usage. I never went over my limit in the past years this is the first time.

I’m a student and my husband’s work is slow now so he is working reduced hours. Already we are in struggle and this paying 1000$ is seriously a lot for us. I called fido customer service to get some help but they said they can’t waive or reduce the amount. They said they can arrange some payment plans. Sad Is there any way I can request Fido to reduce the amount? Customer service told me to contact the billing section but even there no help. I’m so helpless now.

Please any help is valuable. I have 10 more days for the billing date. Please let me know what I should do now. I’m very depressed now, don’t know what to do.

7 REPLIES 7

cherry569
I'm a participant level 1
I'm a participant level 1

I too was recently charged 220 extra for the international calls. This was my first month with FIDO and I was under the impression that I have international minutes as part of the plan and only end of the month got to know I was charged a lot and had to pay around 314 in total. It would be great if FIDO can help to reduce as it is a lot for me.

Hello @cherry569,