cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Long Distance Call US overcharges

Selina4
I'm a participant level 1
I'm a participant level 1

Posting this here because really disappointed with the service fido provided. I was charged $210 dollars extra for long-distance calls to the US which was not a misunderstanding but more a misinformation issue and I tried to contact fido about it to ask if it was possible to do something about this considering I am a student and under my understanding, if calls to India, an international call, were free, calls to the US which isn't even international since its the same country code, were free too. It was also quite shocking to know they don't let their customers know when long-distance charges are being applied since it's quite shocking to just expect a bill, especially since they have notifications for data over usage, why not for this since it is a recurring issue that customers are facing? I was on call for over an hour and got no help at all. Being an international student the systems are really different here and to not try and understand that despite the difficult times especially for internationals was quite saddening. If there is anything that Fido can do to help that would be great.

5 REPLIES 5

vkprakaz
I'm a participant level 2

Hi, 

I too in same boat as i was charged by whooping 250+$ for the US calls as i was not aware on charges .

Because of same country code.

But FIDO customer care is blaming me saying i should check usage , bills, 

it's funny to check usage ,charges for every call that we make ( we need to go online to check).

I thought it's affordable , but it's like unwated charges. 

Am filling complaint Commission for Complaints for Telecom-Television Services (CCTS)

Hello @vkprakaz,

Welcome to the community!

What were the charges for exactly?

Were you calling back to Canada? Were you calling a Canadian number in the US?

Let us know! 

vkprakaz

hi @FidoAnthonyZ