Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FIDO overcharging during CORONA Virus emergency without notifications

rajdeep0808
I'm a participant level 2

Hello,

I recently signed up with Fido. I am an international student. I have an add-on pack for 1000 international minutes, which I use for international calling to check on my parents during CORONA outbreak under the impression I would not be able to call once I used my capped minutes. However FIDO neever gave me any warnings when that cap was reached.

I was really shocked to see long distance overcharges of $ 700 last month. Usually, warning messages are sent whenever we cross the data limit. So, I was under the impression that I would be notified if I cross international calling limit. I did not receive single warning message. Finally, I received a bill through a link stating 'overcharged payment' once after the billing cycle is completed. The link could not be opened as well!

I reached the customer care many times, but they keep telling that they cannot do away with the charges. Further I tried exlaining reasoning that because of CORONA virus epidemic I was nervous always checking on famil and their response was 'WE DON'T CARE"

I hope whoever reading this can understand my situation. Nobody would like to pay $700 long distance overcharges in a monthly phone bill. As I was not assisted with the overcharge issue through customer care, I am posting my concern in the forum, hoping some one could help me out of this. 

How they can they expect syudents to pay charges as $700 ?

If this is not solved, I will be posting the bill to social media and compaining to Consumer Protection of these hidden overcharges.

5 REPLIES 5

sam97thukral
I'm a participant level 3
I'm a participant level 3