Fido roam - charged on NETWORK CONNECTION

I'm a Participant Level 3 123anderson
I'm a Participant Level 3

Fido roam - charged on NETWORK CONNECTION

I am new to using Fido Roam - always have used the travel packs when necessary.  I went into the store and was told that only upon USE of my home plan (be it sending text, phone conversation, data, etc.) would incur the $12/day for the destination.  So I was very careful and kept both roaming data and mobile data off the entire trip.  I turned on my phone regularily to access off-line maps, use wifi and check to see if I had any incoming texts.

To my shock, when I got my last bill, I had incurred my roaming fee for every day of my trip!!  In a long conversation with Fido yesterday, apparently the fee is NOT triggered by use of your home plan but by simply connecting to the foreign cell network. So if you arrive in the airport and want to update the time on the phone, $12 charge immediately.  If you turn on your phone the next day for a photo, another $12. So you have to either turn Roam off or keep your phone in airplane mode the entire time so it doesn't register with any cell network.  

Fido reversed all charges when they could see that nothing other than connection to network occured (i.e. no data, phone conversations, outgoing texts had occured).  They reversed the charges very quickly so am guessing I am not the only one who has complained about this. 

Just wondering if anyone else has had this experience and has the specifics of what triggers a Roam daily charge been well explained to anyone?  Is this how others understand Roam to work and does this policy make any sense??

Accepted Solution

Re: Fido roam - charged on NETWORK CONNECTION

Hey @123anderson

Welcome to the Community Smiley 

This is definitely not how Fido Roam is billed. What triggers the charge is really just usage. That means data usage, outgoing text messages, outgoing calls and answered incoming calls.