cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fido roam - charged on NETWORK CONNECTION

123anderson
I'm a participant level 3

I am new to using Fido Roam - always have used the travel packs when necessary.  I went into the store and was told that only upon USE of my home plan (be it sending text, phone conversation, data, etc.) would incur the $12/day for the destination.  So I was very careful and kept both roaming data and mobile data off the entire trip.  I turned on my phone regularily to access off-line maps, use wifi and check to see if I had any incoming texts.

To my shock, when I got my last bill, I had incurred my roaming fee for every day of my trip!!  In a long conversation with Fido yesterday, apparently the fee is NOT triggered by use of your home plan but by simply connecting to the foreign cell network. So if you arrive in the airport and want to update the time on the phone, $12 charge immediately.  If you turn on your phone the next day for a photo, another $12. So you have to either turn Roam off or keep your phone in airplane mode the entire time so it doesn't register with any cell network.  

Fido reversed all charges when they could see that nothing other than connection to network occured (i.e. no data, phone conversations, outgoing texts had occured).  They reversed the charges very quickly so am guessing I am not the only one who has complained about this. 

Just wondering if anyone else has had this experience and has the specifics of what triggers a Roam daily charge been well explained to anyone?  Is this how others understand Roam to work and does this policy make any sense??

12 REPLIES 12

Junzzzzz
I'm a participant level 2

I have the same issue, feels like we're getting scammed by Fido. For customers who can't be bothered with this 12 charge and the time it takes to reach out it's really frustrating. This is the third time it has happened to me in the last 6 months.