cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fido charged facetime as international call

AndreCeralbo
I'm a participant level 2

This month I got an email from fido that my bill was around $327 and that was $200+ more than what im paying every month. Then, I looked at my bill and it said I got charged for international calls. But, I remember the only calls I made internationally are through facetime. I did not know that fido will charge me for facetime calls and I did not know that facetime cannot be used for free with just data or wifi.

11 REPLIES 11

Kourosh86

I was charged for international calling for 40 minutes while I was using Facetime on my iPhone. It is not right, I have data on my plan with Fido and I use Facetime to call my family all of the time. Last week as always I called my dad via Facetime on my iPhone and today I realized that am charged for 40 minute international call for almost $130. I am an international student and I just manage my expenses day by day. I can not afford to pay this much money for just a phone call. I want my bill to be re-adjusted. There must have been some glitch of some sort in between Apple and Fido but I will never know I shouldn't be paying for that. It makes it really hard for me with all the inflation and everything. 

Hey @Kourosh86

Welcome to the community! 

I'm sorry to hear you've had a larger bill than expected. No one likes this.

Using Facetime while you're in Canada shouldn't charge you anything if you're using your data plan or Wi-fi. Making international calls will trigger internations long distance charges though.

You're welcome to contact us if you need help or have any questions. 

Anonymous
Not applicable

I don't get it!! which wifi I suppose to use?! I pay for the data service that I suppose to receive from fido so why  should I be charged for just using facetime over the data ??? I never used international call but I was charged for long distance calls!! It is not fair at all.