cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting in a number from the 404 area code

thirstyturtle18
I'm a contributor level 1

Hello, I joined Fido about 3 weeks ago and got a new number assigned from FIDO just to test out the network and see if I was going to stay. I have had a great experience with FIDO so far and have deceided to stay with them for the long term, and thus would like to port over my main number that I have been using for over 10 years. I can't seem to find the section of the website where I can port my main number over top of the number I no longer need. Also, I just want to be reassured that I can port in my number, which is from the 404 area code, from T-mobile to Fido.

3 REPLIES 3

Cawtau
Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

Hello Thirstyturtle18,

Welcome to the community!

You can find information regarding porting a number here. Unfortunately, however, I do not believe it would be possible to port your old 404 area code number from T-Mobile as it is a US-based number and is not a Canadian area code (see here and here).

If you wish to keep your US number, people have suggested porting the number to a US VOIP service and then forwarding the calls/messages to your new number. That said, there may be FCC regulations requiring a US billing address for that to be accomplished. There are other services which allow people to simply park the numbers for a period of time if they plan on returning to the US in the future.

I have not done an exhaustive search on how one might keep a phone number after moving abroad. You might consider searching for other possible methods yourself.

Hope this helps Smiley

Cheers

thirstyturtle18