cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MMS won't send when connected to WIFI

Bethy
I'm a participant level 1
I'm a participant level 1

Hello! I'm new to Fido and have an issue with my MMS messages. Each time I try to send a picture, it will not send unless my wifi is switched off. Even then, it takes a while to push through. While I'm happy I can work around it, it's pretty annoying (especially when I forget to turn my wifi back on). Is there a way to fix this? 

I have a OnePlus6 phone (BYOD) and am not interested in getting a new phone. 

4 REPLIES 4

Vanisle
I'm a participant level 2
I'm a participant level 2

This happened to me several months ago and Fido customer service had to change something on their end and then it was fine.  After the latest OS update this has happened again and I can no longer send an mms unless I turn wifi off.  Oneplus6t.  Anyone have any solutions? 

Cawtau
Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

Hello Bethy,

Welcome to the community!

Have you had this same issue with other providers? Had your phone updated recently?

I recently had a similar issue after my phone updated to Android 11. There seems to be a new setting in Android for MMS messages --> Send & Receive when mobile data is off (see graphic here). Unfortunately, I can't provide instructions to access that setting. The setting seems to be readily available to users as shown in that graphic. However, I am unable to re-locate that setting on my phone (Samsung with OneUI 3.1). When I received a MMS while on Wifi, a settings panel notification directed me to a page with that Send & Receive MMS setting. I have tried to search everywhere that comes to mind on my phone and cannot seem to find that setting again. The good news is that I can now receive MMS without having to disconnect from Wifi. However, I cannot provide detailed instructions to find that setting. Hopefully that setting is more easily found in your OnePlus 6.