cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to turn off the amber alert?

I'm a participant level 1

Hello. I am an international student who has received twice amber alerts this month. I did not find the place to turn off this alert, so I come here for help!

I know that this alert may help the children to be saved much quicker. However, I cannot help with this situation, and this alert leads to many negative effects on me. 

1. It influences the quality of sleep and (perhaps) my physical health

I remember the first time I received the amber alert, I have no idea what this is about. I thought that there may be robbers who would enter my room and kill me. I was so scared that I could not fall asleep that night, which influenced my study on the second day.

Yesterday, I received the second alert. The sound was so scary that my heartbeat became fast, and I felt heart pain for the whole day. I could hardly do anything because of this pain. 

2. I cannot help with this kind of kidnap

I am a student, and I am afraid of going outside at night. Therefore, when the sky is dark, I will not go out. Since the amber alert often appears at night, I can not help with this kind of thing. Besides, I lived near my school and seldom go out when there is no class. Therefore, I cannot help with finding the children. 

3. The alert influence my mental health to some extent

Indeed, I wish the kids being lost can be found quicker, but I cannot help with that. Sometimes I feel guilty about this. . I felt that it is my fault for not being able to offer help. I had a nightmare this morning after hearing the amber alert. In my nightmare, I tried to save the child, but I was killed by the kidnapper. I cannot stop thinking about this today. I think this really influences my mental health.