Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4G vs 4G LTE

i3kc
I'm a contributor level 1

Hi everyone.

I'm new to data over mobile devices and I want to make sure I'm set up properly.

My device is a BLU Life XL Phone running android 5.x.x.

My connection states that I'm connected on the 4G network, but under network type, it appears that a "4G LTE" network is a "option".

On speedtest, I am getting between 3 and 8 Mbps, more towards the low end on multiple tries.

Is there a difference between 4G vs 4G LTE or are they they same?

Thanks in advance

2 REPLIES 2

Cawtau
Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

@i3kc wrote:

My device is a BLU Life XL Phone running android 5.x.x.

My connection states that I'm connected on the 4G network, but under network type, it appears that a "4G LTE" network is a "option".

On speedtest, I am getting between 3 and 8 Mbps, more towards the low end on multiple tries.

Is there a difference between 4G vs 4G LTE or are they they same?

Hello I3kc,

Wecome to the community!

There can be a difference between 4G and 4G LTE. If your phone differentiates between the two, then yes there is. However, some phones indicate 4G for LTE so they would be the same. Confusing, I know...

Let me try to explain. Firstly, the two main networks for data are the UMTS or WCDMA ('3G') network and the LTE network (sometimes referred to as 4G). You can also get data on the GSM or 2G (E) network, but it would be rather slow. The data protocols used on the UMTS or '3G' network are HSPA (H) and HSPA+ (H+). The HSPA is usually considered 3G, while the HSPA+ is considered 4G. Different phones will use differing designations.