cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modem Purchase

calgin
I'm a participant level 2

I see my monthly invoice has $8.00 modem rental fee. I was wondering if there is an option to purchase this modem.

11 REPLIES 11

FidoFaiza

Hi @calgin,

Welcome to Fido Smiley

It's not possible to purchase the modem. 

Let me know if you have any other questions.

alaflyca8
I'm a contributor level 1
I'm a contributor level 1

Why ? 

That's simply not an option we provide at this time. Renting the modem also allows us to make sure you can benefit from the latest technology available. 

Don't hesitate if you have any other questions. Smiley 

astrida
I'm a participant level 1

I've been paying the modem rental for 8 years for the same modem. In what sense is that providing the latest technology?
And now I'll be charged an additional $4/month, because of the latest technology?

Nobody seems able to tell me what those $4/month from all of us as of Jan 2024 will change? In addition to the extra $3 months Fido started charing in March 2023?

calgin

So that rental cost is nothing but a marketting scam. Hidden additional cost..

MazinIsmail

It feels illegal to force customers to pay for rental. Fido does not allow to buy modem from them nor do they allow to buy from a different vender. Fido does not anyway make modems. 

Hey @calgin

I can assure you we're not hiding the cost of the modem. All the plans you see online include the cost of the rental. As @FidoPamela mentioned, renting the modem has many benefits.  For example, as opposed to a modem you purchased, there's no limited warranty. As long as you keep the service with us, we'll offer you troubleshooting for your modem and, if necessary, we'll be able to replace it without charging you anything extra (unless the issue is due to physical damage on the modem).

ReducingMyBill