Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cancelling Home Internet

rishabhjiresal
I'm a participant level 2

Hello,

I had one of the worst experiences at Fido today. I had called customer service yesterday 06-Oct-2020 for the cancellation of my Fido Home Internet. He talked to me properly and apparently canceled the service and asked me to return the modem to the nearest Fido store. He even told me which store is the nearest one so that I can return the modem. He asked me to return it within 5 days to avoid a charge of around $250 which is a lot to me since I am a student. I got no email or notification of any cancellation.

The next day, today 07-Oct-2020 I go to the Fido store to return the modem. The guy at the store cannot find my account number in their database! He asks me to hold on for some time and calls Fido customer service. And what they tell him is that customers are not allowed to return the modem in store and I (customer) now need to mail the modem to Fido. And the reason for this - Due to COVID, Fido has stopped accepting the returns in store. The guy asks me for my email address and tells me that I will get an email soon that will have a prepaid label for shipping. I am waiting for the email and I have got 3 days now to return the modem. If I get no email, I am asked to call the customer service again which needs holding the line for an hour. I did everything that was told to me and still, I have to keep calling customer service?

First thing, why did the previous customer service representative (who canceled my Home Internet) ask me to return the modem in store?

Second, why doesn't the store representative help me with the modem return?