Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bait and Switch

I'm a participant level 1
I'm a participant level 1

This is just absolutely disgusting and ridiculous. Anyone has same issue here? My mom just landed in Canada, and so I need to get a phone for her to use. So I went on fido website and saw this used iPhone 11 for $8monthly. So I phoned in to place the order. I was told to upgrade my plan in order to get the device which I did, so it's another $9 a month. Guess what, been waiting for an entire month, no response, no phone,  FUNNY.  Contacted them three times, told me to wait. They also suggested me to cancle my order but they wouldn't agree to give back my original plan. They made customer paying for their mistake. Now I have paid extra for a month for nothing, and my mom ended not having a phone to use for a month and Fido has nothing to lose. I am going to cancle my entire lines with fido. And I am going to report this bait and switch behavior to government departments soon as I have a chance. 



Hey @Christine219 ,


Welcome to the Community!


I'm terribly sorry to hear about your experience. This isn't at all what we aim to provide you with and we would want to see you go. Please contact us using the methods shown here and we'll be happy to look into a solution for you. 


Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

Hello Christine219,


  Welcome to the community!


  Sorry to hear of your situation. However, I'm not sure they intentionally attempted to bait you to switch your plan. The device you chose was a pre-owned device. Unfortunately, there are a limited supply of used devices. If the device you ordered was no longer in supply, they would not be able to fulfil the order. They may wait until other similar devices arrive in their inventory. However, there is no guarantee a certain device will become available.


  I understand you were required to change your plan to one compatible with financing devices. I cannot speak to why you were unable to revert back to your original plan. However, in general, they cannot provide a plan which is no longer available on the system.


  You should note that this is the community forum and not intended as a venue for customer services. You would need to re-contact customer service if you wished to further discuss the matter. In addition, they can also be contacted via Live Chat, Facebook, or Twitter. Those methods can be accessed via the contact page posted above.


Hope this helps 😀