No, if you cancel your account you will lose your number and your plan.
You can temporarily suspend the line. Here is how it works.
If you do not have an agreement, you can suspend your line for $7/month. The suspension can be added for a minimum period of 2 months and a maximum of 12 months.
The temporary suspension can only be added for the next billing cycle. Also, you have to call back if you need the service to be restored before the end date of the suspension.