cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roaming is set to OFF on phone, but still got charged roaming??

wzfoto
I'm a participant level 2
I'm a participant level 2

I have been using the same phone and same fido service for the past 2 years.  I had roaming set to 'Never' on my phone.  A month ago when I was in the US, I got charge roaming even though I never make/receive calls, never send/receive text, and never use data (unless I m connected to a wifi).  I thought I might have pressed the wrong button.  Recently I was in the US again, I received the standard 'roaming text' message, but next day I got an email saying roaming is enable, without my consents.  I am 100% sure roaming was not enabled because I was not able to refresh any app that requires a data connection.  I contacted fido customer support and went to a fido store to have roaming removed from my account but they said it is not possible?!  Is this the new way fido operate? By sneaking roaming charge without customer's consent?  Where/how do I escalate this problem to the appropriate party?

1 REPLY 1

Cawtau
Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

Hello Wzfoto,

Are you still using the same Xiaomi phone from your earlier posts? Most newer phones do not have an option to disable roaming anymore. They only have the option to disable roaming data. Is that the setting you had set on your phone to 'Never'? You should note that disabling roaming data does not prevent roaming for voice and messaging.