cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need another line set up, have new iPhone 4s locked to Telus

Jonibean
I'm a participant level 2

Our family currently has two lines and I would like to set up a third for a child. We have an iPhone 3S, locked to Fido, on a Fido account, and a 4 unlocked on a Fido account. We now also have a new 4S, locked to Telus. I would like to use this phone to replace my 3s, give the 3s to my daughter (with a new line), and eventually upgrade the 3g. I would rather not sign a contract - we have been with Fido from back when it was still Microcell.

What is the best way to do this? Do I have to move to Telus? Currently the kids do not have data on their phones but it might be ok to have some kind of shared data plan between the three of us. Is this possible and what would the costs be?

***Edited to add labels***

3 REPLIES 3

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2

@Jonibean wrote:

Our family currently has two lines and I would like to set up a third for a child. We have an iPhone 3S, locked to Fido, on a Fido account, and a 4 unlocked on a Fido account. We now also have a new 4S, locked to Telus. I would like to use this phone to replace my 3s, give the 3s to my daughter (with a new line), and eventually upgrade the 3g. I would rather not sign a contract - we have been with Fido from back when it was still Microcell.

What is the best way to do this? Do I have to move to Telus? Currently the kids do not have data on their phones but it might be ok to have some kind of shared data plan between the three of us. Is this possible and what would the costs be?

Where did you get the Telus phone? Telus will unlock iPhones after 90 days on account for $35. Fido cannot unlock Telus iPhones. If you don't have a Telus account, if the person you bought it from still have their Telus account open then you could as them to call Telus and have it unlocked for you.

Jonibean