cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fido Roam - How receiving calls work?

ericntd
I'm a participant level 2

Hi everyone, I'm a small business owner and receiving calls is critical to me.

I'm about to travel to the USA and I am planning to purchase Fido Roam for the trip ($12 per day)

I've never done it before so my questions are:

1. Can my business contacts dial my number normally 416xxxyyyy without the +1 or 00 prefix?

2. Who will have to pay what? It will unacceptable if my contacts have to pay to reach me. They shouldn't even know/ care that I'm out of the country.

3. Will data/ Internet or not? I'm super confused about the 3G not working in the USA. I've been using 4G on my phone all this while

Thanks a lot!

6 REPLIES 6

Cawtau
Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

Hello Ericntd,

Welcome to the community!

In addition to what was mentioned by Original_Lucy below,

@ericntd wrote:

1. Can my business contacts dial my number normally 416xxxyyyy without the +1 or 00 prefix?

Since your phone number remains a Canadian phone number, people calling your phone number will not need to dial any specific prefixes to call your mobile when it is out of the Country. To them, they would dial your number as usual since they would not necessarily know where you and your device are located.

@ericntd wrote:

2. Who will have to pay what? It will unacceptable if my contacts have to pay to reach me. They shouldn't even know/ care that I'm out of the country.

As mentioned, they will dial your number as per usual. As such, they would not be charged any additional fees if you are out of the Country. As you are aware, you would incur roaming charges for receiving the calls.

@ericntd wrote:

3. Will data/ Internet or not? I'm super confused about the 3G not working in the USA. I've been using 4G on my phone all this while