cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If I spend $550 with a Monthly plan to buy a Galaxy S3, is that locked?

CJH
I'm a participant level 2

***Edited to add labels***

12 REPLIES 12

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2
If you buy if from Fido, yes it will be locked.

dfkls
I'm a contributor level 2
I'm a contributor level 2

Yeah, but you can get it unlocked for $50, since it would be fully paid off.

gfunkdub

I read somewhere that you can have Fido unlock it for you before sending it or I suppose done in-store.  Is that the $50 service you were referring to, or do you go somewhere 3rd party to get it done?  I have had it done abroad before but would rather Fido do it so it isn't as iffy.

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2

@gfunkdub wrote:

I read somewhere that you can have Fido unlock it for you before sending it or I suppose done in-store.  Is that the $50 service you were referring to, or do you go somewhere 3rd party to get it done?  I have had it done abroad before but would rather Fido do it so it isn't as iffy.

Sending it where?

Fido doesn't unlock in their stores. You call in and request the unlock from customer service. They charge you $50 if you meet the eligibility requirements for their unlock.

gfunkdub

Before they send it to you new from their warehouse.

What are their eligibility requirements?

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2

@gfunkdub wrote:

They won't unlock it before sending it to you. If you want that, buy it from Apple.

Eligibility requirements for unlock (might be out of date)

1. No contract obligations connected to the phone. That means you either pay full price for the phone, pay the termination of the contract under which you bought the phone, wait until the contract expires or upgrade to a new phone and the old one becomes clear of obligations. If you buy it for full price from Fido, you would have to wait 30 days.