FIDO LTE Bands Match

Reply
I'm a Participant Level 2 xtrip
I'm a Participant Level 2

FIDO LTE Bands Match

hello,

 

Ive been doing quite a bit of research and at this point Im still not sure about the following.

 

Will an international version of Nokia Lumia 920 will work with FIdo LTE?

 

The bands of the Nokia lumia thats being sold unlocked online are: LTE 800 / 1800 / 2600 / 900 / 2100

 

Do all of these bands have to match fido's lte bands? or 2100 is enough? 

 

thank you

 

 

Accepted Solution

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hey everyone, 

 

I think Cawtau's post Will my phone work on the Fido network might answer all your questions.

 

Cheers,

 

And thanks @Cawtau!  

View solution in context
Flag this to a Moderator
Message 1 of 126
100,209 Views
Former Moderator FidoJudhy
Former Moderator

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hey xtrip!

Fido's LTE network uses the 2100 and 2600 MHz frequencies (mostly 2600 MHz).

From the information you have provided us with, it does seem like the phone will be compatible with our LTE network.

I hope this helps Smiley


Flag this to a Moderator
Message 2 of 126
49,709 Views
I'm a Participant Level 2 xtrip
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Thank you very much for your response.

Much appreciated!


Do you know anything about AWS?

According to

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks


Rogers/FIDO is running AWS. If the phone doesnt have AWS, will it still run LTE speeds?

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 3 of 126
49,702 Views
Former Moderator FidoJudhy
Former Moderator

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hey xtrip!

You do need AWS to gain access to the LTE network.


Flag this to a Moderator
Message 4 of 126
49,672 Views
I'm a Participant Level 1 azn_dan
I'm a Participant Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

This HTC One unlocked version comes with: 32GB of onboard memory and is SIM unlocked. 
- HSPA/WCDMA: 850/1900/2100 MHz 
- GSM/GPRS/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz 
- LTE: 700/850/AWS/1900 MHz (US)

 

will that work on the FIDO network with full LTE speeds?

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 5 of 126
49,181 Views
Community Specialist
Community Specialist

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match


@azn_dan wrote:

This HTC One unlocked version comes with: 32GB of onboard memory and is SIM unlocked. 
- HSPA/WCDMA: 850/1900/2100 MHz 
- GSM/GPRS/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz 
- LTE: 700/850/AWS/1900 MHz (US)

 

will that work on the FIDO network with full LTE speeds?


Hi azn_dan,

 

Unfortunately it will not work on our LTE network as that phone does not support the bands we use (2100 and 2600).



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 6 of 126
49,070 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 A_S
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

I am thinking to get an unlocked version of Galaxy Note 2. But there are many varieties of them in the market. For example the model N7105 has the following LTE bands including 2600 but doesn’t say anything about supporting AWS. Would this work in your LTE network? If not which model of note 2 is best compatible with Fido LTE?

 

I appreciate a clear answer as LTE/AWS are really confusing.

 

  • LTE (800/900/1800/2600MHz) +
  • UMTS HSPA+ (850/900/2100MHz) +
  • GSM (850/900/1800/1900MHz)
Flag this to a Moderator
Message 7 of 126
48,920 Views
I'm a Contributor Level 1 gmoffatt
I'm a Contributor Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

You'll be fine if your phone supports LTE on 2600 MHz.  Rogers has deployed 2600 MHz in all the markets where they have LTE.

 

AWS (or LTE Band IV) operates on both 1700 and 2100 MHz (uplink on one, downlink on the other) - if your phone only supports one of the two, you will not be able to use LTE on the AWS band.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 8 of 126
48,895 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 A_S
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Thanks. In this case people who are looking to get their own Galaxy note 2 then the best model is N7105. I just got a new factory unlocked N7105 (with LTE 2600) for $550 US in Amazon.com with no tax and free shipping to my US Address.
Flag this to a Moderator
Message 9 of 126
48,886 Views
I'm a Participant Level 1 C1t1zenCI
I'm a Participant Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Thanks for all the info.

Will this phone work on FIDO LTE network?

3G Network : UMTS HSPA+ HSDPA 800, 850, 2100 MHz
- 4G Network : LTE 800, 1500, 2100 Mhz.

Appreciate the answer.

 

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 10 of 126
48,125 Views
I'm a Participant Level 1 Jason_jey
I'm a Participant Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

I also got an unlocked N7105 but could not link to Lte network. I did a lot research as to how to setup APN and had followed the instructions, but still does not work. Anyone has the solutions? Thanks.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 11 of 126
6,952 Views
Highlighted
I'm a Participant Level 2 shan--
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

If my phone supports the 2100 LTE band but not 2600, is it compatible with all of Fido's LTE markets?

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 12 of 126
6,817 Views
I'm a Participant Level 1 tinytr16
I'm a Participant Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hi there,

 

I have an HTC One mini factory unlocked international version.  Will this work on the Fido LTE network?

 

  • 3G 900/1900/2100 MHz
  • 4G 800/1800/2600 Mhz

I also don't understand the AWS stuff.  It doesn't say anything in the specs for the HTC One mini to do with AWS...

 

Thanks!

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 13 of 126
6,799 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 Mokaval
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

I have a phone with this configuration

 

GSM:850/900/1800/1900

WCDMA: 900/2100

4 G LTE: 1800/2600

 

It seems to be appropriate on Fido Network

It is really slow when using the net.

Why?

Fernand

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 14 of 126
6,476 Views
I'm Qualified Level 3
I'm Qualified Level 3

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

What specific phone are you using? and where do you live?

 

You need to set your phone to enable the LTE frequency in your phone.  If it is running at LTE you should have fast interent connection of 30+Mps. the top bar of the phone should tell you want network you are using. If your phone is running at 2G. it will be very slow.

 

The reason you are getting 2G is ether you didn't enable your phone or your location is poor LTE coverage.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 15 of 126
6,469 Views