cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bahamas (BTC) sim card...unlocked' phone: no go

wlw
I'm a participant level 2

Purchased Sony ericicsson GSM phone from Fido.Dec 2010..\Waitied the 30 days to have phone unlocked.Jan2011

Paid Fido to unlock phone. billed Feb 2011

Bought SImcard from BTC(Bahamsa Telco) March 2011

Inserted card

Message on phone"Insert correct SIm Card".  No connection.

Is this an indication that the phone is not unlocked?

i am in the Bahamas for 4 months without a phone....any help or suggestions/  How frustrrating to get technical supprot from FIDO.

***Edited to add labels***

5 REPLIES 5

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2

Yes, that message on a SE means it is still locked. I think if you put your Fido SIM back in your phone you can call Fido without charge, and find out if they did the unlock and/of if they will generate a new unlock code for you. From Fido's website, on contacting them from overseas:

To contact Fido while you are travelling outside Canada, call +1-514-933-3436(from U.S.) or +1-514-925-4590 (from abroad). The call will be free of charge from your Fido. Our business hours are weekdays from 7:00 a.m. to 12:00 a.m., and weekends from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. (Eastern Time).

Once you are through, ask for the unlock dept again and explain the problem.

wlw

I talked with FIDO and they gave me a new unlock code.  I entered the correct sequence but did not get expected results.

Hit Left * * Left on your device.
Once this sequence is entered, a prompt will be displayed with several options. 
(only 3 options see below)
Select "Network".

MNC 3 will then need to be selected, at which point you'll need to enter your unlock code.

Once this has been entered correctly the device will be unlocked.