cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fido roam

fathiaulya
I'm a participant level 1
I'm a participant level 1

hey! so i've been staying outside canada (in southeast asia) for the past 2 months, and the airplane mode on my phone has been turned off while i'm outside canada. However, recently i accidentally turned on my airplane mode and my phone's cellular was automatically turned on, after that i received an email from fido, it is stated that "as per the wireless code, this email is to confirm that one or more users from your account recently registered on a roaming network". After i accidentally turned on my phone's airplane mode, i right away turned it off. By receveing an email stated like above, Does this mean i automatically turn on data roaming? do i get charged for this automatically even though i'm not using the data? If yes then how do i stop the roaming service? please advise, thank you.

5 REPLIES 5

patrickchan
I'm experienced level 1
I'm experienced level 1

get an asian sim card, keep fido sim in safe place, place your new asian sim phone number on facebook and twitter.

Fredyo
I'm helpful level 1
I'm helpful level 1

Fido roam is a giant scam designed to trick you in daily payments. Disable it at all costs and find a local soloution which will be ALMOST ALWAYS a better deal! 

Hey @Fredyo

Welcome to the Community!

We're sad to see you feel this way. Fido Roam is a great option for people who travel often and need to keep their Canadian number active while abroad in order to remain in contact with family and friends. That said, sometimes a local option can be beneficial too.

It's really what works best for you.

Fredyo
I'm helpful level 1
I'm helpful level 1

It's ok if you're desperate and need something quick but there are far better options for sure that won't break the bank!

KAPABLE-K
MVP MVP
MVP

Hello @fathiaulya,