FIDO LTE Bands Match

Reply
I'm a Participant Level 2 xtrip
I'm a Participant Level 2

FIDO LTE Bands Match

hello,

 

Ive been doing quite a bit of research and at this point Im still not sure about the following.

 

Will an international version of Nokia Lumia 920 will work with FIdo LTE?

 

The bands of the Nokia lumia thats being sold unlocked online are: LTE 800 / 1800 / 2600 / 900 / 2100

 

Do all of these bands have to match fido's lte bands? or 2100 is enough? 

 

thank you

 

 

Accepted Solution

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hey everyone, 

 

I think Cawtau's post Will my phone work on the Fido network might answer all your questions.

 

Cheers,

 

And thanks @Cawtau!  

View solution in context
Flag this to a Moderator
Message 1 of 126
102,832 Views
I'm a Participant Level 1 wingche
I'm a Participant Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

I am using Xiaomi Redmi Note 4G right now ! I can't use LTE on this phone?

 

Xiaomi Redmi Note 4G
4G LTE: FDD-LTE (1800/2100MHz)   TDD-LTE (2600MHz);   

3G:WCDMA: 850/900/1900/2100MHz  

2G:GSM:850/900/1800/1900Mhz;

  Anyone can help ? thank

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 31 of 126
15,230 Views
MVP
MVP

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match


@wingche wrote:

I am using Xiaomi Redmi Note 4G right now ! I can't use LTE on this phone?

 

Xiaomi Redmi Note 4G
4G LTE: FDD-LTE (1800/2100MHz)   TDD-LTE (2600MHz);   

3G:WCDMA: 850/900/1900/2100MHz  

2G:GSM:850/900/1800/1900Mhz;

  Anyone can help ? thank


Hello Wingche,

 

  Unfortunately, I do not believe you will be able to get LTE using that phone. Firstly, Fido/Rogers uses FDD so the the 2600 MHz on TDD would not be compatible even with the same frequency. Secondly, the 2100 MHz refers to AWS or Band 4 (1700/2100) rather than Band 1 as suggested on the 'How to' page. I would suspect that a phone coming out of Asia would refer to 2100 MHz as Band 1 unless specifically stating it was AWS compatible for North American use.

 

  That said, check the bands/frequencies that your phone can access. (I'm not sure how to do this, so maybe someone else can help in that regard.) There have been instances where the phones could actually access the proper bands/frequencies even though they were not specifically mentioned in their printed specifications.

 

Cheers



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 32 of 126
15,221 Views
I'm a Participant Level 1 leochiu
I'm a Participant Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Can i manually choose what lte band to be used on my phone? Does band 17 have the fastest network speed? I am planning to get an unlocked Bell Note 4. Thanks

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 33 of 126
15,198 Views
I'm a Participant Level 2 kleung87
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

im planning to get the motorola nexus 6 and these are the bands that they support, will i be able to use it with fido (3g and LTE)?

 

Americas SKU:
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
CDMA: Band Class: 0/1/10
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/8
LTE: Bands: 2/3/4/5/7/12/13/17/25/26/29/41
CA DL: Bands: B2-B13, B2-B17, B2-29, B4-B5, B4-B13, B4-B17, B4-B29

 

Rest of World SKU:
GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
CDMA: not supported
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8/9/19
LTE: Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/9/19/20/28/41
CA DL: B3-B5, B3-B8

 

 

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 34 of 126
15,171 Views
I'm a Participant Level 1 westsidej2k
I'm a Participant Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

I have a Samsung Galaxy S5 from Korea, SM-G900K model, it seems per specs on manufactuers site, i have all the band frequency required for LTE, but not getting the LTE band. can anyone tell me if this phone is compatible or not?
Flag this to a Moderator
Message 35 of 126
15,091 Views
MVP
MVP

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match


@westsidej2k wrote:
I have a Samsung Galaxy S5 from Korea, SM-G900K model, it seems per specs on manufactuers site, i have all the band frequency required for LTE, but not getting the LTE band. can anyone tell me if this phone is compatible or not?

Hello Westsidej2k,

 

  I'll assume that you have a working LTE Sim and proper APNs.

 

  Is this the correct phone model that you have? Sorry, I cannot read Korean but am taking a guess that it's the same one.

 

http://www.samsung.com/sec/consumer/mobile-phone/mobile-phone/kt/SM-G900KZKEKTO-spec

 

  If it is, then you would be correct in thinking that B7(2600) and  B17(700) are correct band/frequencies. Unfortunately, however, Fido/Rogers uses Band 4 or AWS (1700/2100) rather than Band 1 (2100) as stated in those specifications.

 

  If you are sure that you have a working LTE Sim and that your APNs are correct, then it appears that this phone is proof that Advanced Wireless Services (AWS or Band 4) is required to access the LTE network (see some of my previous posts).

 

  I'm curious, are you able to access the 3G network?

 

Cheers



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 36 of 126
15,081 Views
I'm a Contributor Level 1 ShawnK
I'm a Contributor Level 1

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hi all,

A bit confused about LTE bands as I see vastly conflicting reports

 

I called into Fido, and a rep told me my phone required 700 mhz (band 17) 1700/2100 (band 4) and 2600 (band 7)

 

The phone I was thinking to buy is listed as bands 4,5,7  850, 2100, 2600mhz

So will LTE work (band 7 2600 only?) 

 

And any idea why phone specs list band 4 2100 but no 1700 support?

 

Fido has a support page on which no mention of 700mhz or AWS (is it out of date?)

https://www.fido.ca/web/content/phonewarranty/configure_unlocked_device_guide&lang=en

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 37 of 126
15,027 Views
MVP
MVP

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match


@ShawnK wrote:

Hi all,

A bit confused about LTE bands as I see vastly conflicting reports

 

I called into Fido, and a rep told me my phone required 700 mhz (band 17) 1700/2100 (band 4) and 2600 (band 7)

 

The phone I was thinking to buy is listed as bands 4,5,7  850, 2100, 2600mhz

So will LTE work (band 7 2600 only?) 

 

And any idea why phone specs list band 4 2100 but no 1700 support?

 

Fido has a support page on which no mention of 700mhz or AWS (is it out of date?)

https://www.fido.ca/web/content/phonewarranty/configure_unlocked_device_guide&lang=en


Hello ShawnK,

 

  Wow! I'm glad to hear that Fido reps are now informing people of what the required bands/frequencies are. All of my previous attempts to find out from Fido resulted in 'we don't know, but you can try a SIM to find out if it works.'

 

  I am not convinced that band 7 (2600) alone will be able to access the LTE network (see some of my previous posts). However, the phone you mentioned should be able to access the network because it also has band 4 (AWS or 1700/2100).

 

  I'm not sure why the phone manufacturer did not list 1700 in their specs even though they list band 4. Maybe the reasoning is similar to why 1700 is not listed in Fido's 'How to' page. There is no unified convention between phone manufacturers and mobile companies for the listing of bands/frequencies. Some groups would say that they should have listed 1700 rather than 2100 because of the confusion with band 1.

 

  Additionally, there have been occasions where some phones have bands that are not mentioned in their specifications. This could be due to the mass production of parts and target markets. It could be more cost effective to use the same part in different phone models rather than to produce multiple market-specific parts. They then could just list the bands/frequences required by those markets. That reasoning, however, is purely my speculation. There is a way of checking what bands your phone can actually access, but I'm not sure how to do it.

 

  With regards to your potential phone, the fact that they mention band 4 would mean that it does support AWS and have both 1700 and 2100 regardless of whether or not 1700 was listed.

 

  Yes, Fido needs to update their 'How to' page.

 

Cheers

 



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 38 of 126
15,005 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 chorong761
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

I have a S5 Prime SM-G906S and i can't get LTE either

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 39 of 126
14,913 Views
Highlighted
MVP
MVP

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match


@chorong761 wrote:

I have a S5 Prime SM-G906S and i can't get LTE either


Hello Chorong761,

 

  Have you seen my replies to other people above. They seem to apply to yourself as well.

 

Cheers



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 40 of 126
14,898 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 chorong761
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

I've found a way to use LTE on just the 2600MHz band without AWS or 2100 Band 4. It worked for me

The solution for my South Korean Galaxy S5 Prime (SM-G906S) (SKT, KT, LG U+ all the same) is to set the phone to LTE B7 in the service menu.


To access the service menu, type in 319712358 in your dialpad to access the service menu.

 

The passwords for:

SKT: 996412
KT: 774632

LG U+: 0821

 

After that, click on Network Settings --> Network Mode and choose LTE B7

 

Hope this helps for other Korean phone users!

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 41 of 126
5,820 Views
MVP
MVP

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match


@chorong761 wrote:

I've found a way to use LTE on just the 2600MHz band without AWS or 2100 Band 4. It worked for me

The solution for my South Korean Galaxy S5 Prime (SM-G906S) (SKT, KT, LG U+ all the same) is to set the phone to LTE B7 in the service menu.


To access the service menu, type in 319712358 in your dialpad to access the service menu.

 

The passwords for:

SKT: 996412
KT: 774632

LG U+: 0821

 

After that, click on Network Settings --> Network Mode and choose LTE B7

 

Hope this helps for other Korean phone users!


Hello Chorong761,

 

  Very interesting! I'm glad you were able to come up with a solution.

 

Cheers



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 42 of 126
5,812 Views
I'm a Participant Level 2 ccianciu
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hi,

 

1 -Can you confirm if a Verizon phone (Lumia ICON also know as Lumia 929) will work on the FIDO LTE network?

2 - Will it get full speeds on LTE?

3 -Will I be able to use the HOTSPOT feature to allow my kids to tether to my data package?

 

What is the LTE bands that FIDO uses today as of November 2014?  Does it use the 700 MHz like Rogers.

 

Thanks.

 

 

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 43 of 126
5,788 Views
I'm a Participant Level 2 ccianciu
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Can I get a response from a moderator please???

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 44 of 126
5,781 Views
I'm a Participant Level 2 xtrip
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: FIDO LTE Bands Match

Hello all,

 

I just got my Lumia 930...what an amazing phone!..best phone i ever had, camera and the screen are just beautiful..

 

This is an international, unlocked phone..with 2600 band for LTE. and surprise..surprise it does work on LTE!! It never actually displayes LTE on the top left, it only says 4G or H+..however, with speedtest.net ive been getting spees of 50 or 60 Mbs per second.

 

All this is great ..but I have been having a major issue. I use a lot of Tunein radio for daily commute (brossard to Laval:(() and..very odd, no matter what radio station i play it stops at exactly 45 s into the play. On Wi fi works fine, so its obviously something with the network. I tried several things..resetting the phone, changing the apn and nothing really worked. I even try to force the phone to only use 3G but this also doesnt seem to work..as the speed test still goes to 40-50Mbs..

 

In end i found a solution, that involves a major compromise: use the FIDO non LTE apn - Fido-core-appl1.apn

this seems to help with streaming, where tunein stations dont stop playing..but on the downside im only getting now 3-4 Mbs top. 

 

I just wanted to share with you..in case anyone wonders..and i can confirm that 2600 LTE does work on FIDO.  If anyone has maybe a potential solution..to my issue ..let me know!

 

thanks,

E.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 45 of 126
5,761 Views