cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Local Calling

chaosmage
I'm a contributor level 1

Is it possible to use my local calling minutes to talk from Waterloo to Toronto? Or do I have to get long distance minutes? Is the local calling region detemined by where the call is made from?

11 REPLIES 11

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2

@chaosmage wrote:

Is it possible to use my local calling minutes to talk from Waterloo to Toronto? Or do I have to get long distance minutes? Is the local calling region detemined by where the call is made from?

Correct, long distance charges for outbound calls are determined by the Local Calling Area yuo are physically in. So if you are in Waterloo calls to Toronto will be long distance. Calls to Waterloo area will be local. If you drive into Toronto, then calls to Toronto numbers are local and calls back to Waterloo will be long distance.

Additionally, if you have a Waterloo number then all calls you receive while in Toronto would incur long distance charges for you.

chaosmage

Does Fido have any plans to supoort this situation?

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2

@chaosmage wrote:

Does Fido have any plans to supoort this situation?

They already have a solution: $10/month for unlimited Canadian long distance. Note that this does not mean unlimited Canadian calling. The add-on simply prevents you from being charged the long distance portion of your calls (in or out) from anywhere in Canada (on the Rogers network) to anywhere Canada. Any airtime charges would still apply, for instance if you went over your daytime minutes as would out of zone fees if you are on a City Fido plan.

chaosmage

Ok this helps a lot. I was just wondering that if I went with someone else for long distance, would that cut into my airtime minutes?

10yearfido
I'm an expert level 2
I'm an expert level 2

@chaosmage wrote: