cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use Fido Roam

Vil2
I'm a participant level 2

I am new to Fido Roam, with a BYOB monthly plan that includes Canada-wide calling.

I understand that if I turn on FIDO Roaming when travelling to the USA, I will only be charged $12 CA on those days I make calls, use data, or send texts. Is that correct?

I am leaving in 2 weeks. Should I already turn on data Roaming? Is there any downside to turning Data Roaming on now and leaving it on all the time? If my understanding is correct, I will never get charghed anything while in Canada.

4 REPLIES 4

Vil2

Thanks for your responses; they were helpful. I have a Fido talk, text and data plan on my iPhone 12.

Right now, when I turn on my Mobile Data, I see under Mobile Data Options that Roaming is OFF. When I open Moblie data Options, I see the option to toggle Data Roaming to ON. Am I correct to understand that as soon as I cross into the US, that Data Roaming setting will automatically toggle over the the ON position?

Hello again,

@Vil2 wrote:

... Am I correct to understand that as soon as I cross into the US, that Data Roaming setting will automatically toggle over the the ON position?

Not exactly. The data roaming setting on your phone won't be ON unless you make the change to enable it. If you do not enable data roaming when you leave Canada, your phone won't be able to use data for web-browsing, email, social media, etc. when abroad. In order to use those services without Wifi, you would need to enable data and roaming data.