cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LG G6 - low signal strength on LTE mode

mreams
I'm a participant level 2

I am new to Fido and use an LG G6 on the Fido network.

My LG G6 on LTE mode (GSM/HSPA/LTE auto) ussually only has 2 bars but my Samsung S8 has 4-5 bars.  I swapped SIMS and sure enough the LG G6 still has 2 bars and the Samsung has 4-5 bars.  

When I switch to 4G mode (GSM/HSPA auto) I get full bars.

I have reset the network settings, factory reset etc.  Same problem, and this is my second LG G6 phone, I sent the first one back because of the same issue.

Any help is appriciated.

Matt

3 REPLIES 3

Cawtau
Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

Hello Mreams,

Welcome to the community!

There could be many reasons why one phone may show better (or worse) signal than another phone.

Firstly, it's not uncommon for different phone models to have differences in cellular reception. For example, a professor at Denmark's Aalborg University tested the performance of various mobile phone antennae (see here). I'm not sure how much we can extrapolate from his data because Fido/Rogers uses mostly different bands/frequencies and the study is now a few years old. However, it does illustrate the large differences between phone models. 

In addition, different phones might illustrate the signal strength differently. There is no industry standard that relates cell phone signal strength to the number of bars on your phone.  For example, the same signal strength (-90dBm) might be shown as 3 bars on one phone and only 2 bars on another phone. It is far better to compare the actual decibels. -50dBm is great signal or full bars. -120dBm is very poor signal or a dead zone.