Victim of fraud

I'm a Participant Level 2 bellchu
I'm a Participant Level 2

Victim of fraud

This morning, a gentleman from Fido called said that Pixel 3 is currently out of stock, I'll need to wait for a while to get the phone.

Well, I'm glad he called because I never ordered anything from Fido. He said he will file my case and report to the fraud department.

Then I log in to my Fido account, found that my Contact Information has been changed, the email address is not mine, the contact phone number is not mine........ My plan has been changed to XXL.

I'm very careful about information security, I'm an IT engineer and a certified network security expert. I never give my account information to anyone, and I use different passwords for different websites and services.

The worst part is that I didn't get any notification of any change of my account and order. I searched google, found that many Fido customers had the same terrible experience. If any change or order require SMS verification, this trouble could be avoided. Hope Fido could do more to protect their customers.

Hopefully, it won't take too long to get this issue sorted out.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 1 of 5

Re: Victim of fraud

Hey @bellchu

I can understand how upsetting this entire situation can be. Rest assured that our customers' security and privacy is one of our main priorities! 

Any change done on an account is notified by email. In your case, since the email was changed, that's where we were sending the confirmation. 

I'll be sending you a PM so we can look into this together. 

Talk to you soon! 

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 2 of 5

Hi Claudia, 

Thank you for your reply. Since email can be easily changed by the hackers, SMS notification and confirmation should be the most secure way to verify the ownership of the account.