iOS wifi calling

iOS wifi calling

iOS wifi calling

SOLVED
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

iOS wifi calling

With apple announcing wifi calling with iOS 8 and Rogers announcing they will support this feature, will fido also support it? I understand that Fido is now often treated as the ugly stepchild and left out of certain features (Rogers One Number for example) but since this is an OS feature, it'd be nice if we weren't left out in cold this time.

Accepted Solution

Re: iOS wifi calling

Solved by I'm a Contributor Level 2 KevinBroten

i called fido and it looks like on the 16th they will do a carrier update to enable wifi calling for pre-paid monthly users. It will use texts and talk time from plan.

I'm currently already running iOS 9.1 so hopefully I will get the service enabled quickly. 

I only get 2g at one bar in my apartment. and need to use wifi for data.

View solution in context
102 REPLIES 102
afterthefact
Fido Employee

Hello @Fayaz, welcome to the Fido Community!  What happens on your device when you enable the WiFi Calling feature?  Do you see any error messages on screen?  Do you get prompted to update your address for 911?   Please let us know exactly the steps you experience. 

KevinBroten
I'm a Contributor Level 2

Ya they mass sent everyones SMS with the notice of wifi calling
bettyfrn
I'm a Participant Level 3

I got a text message from Fido saying that we can now place calls over wifi
KevinBroten

@FidoKenny sadly the wifi calling is not truely free. It does not give free calls to numbers on the same account. All calls are billed no matter what. And every wifi calling call to local numbers says it is a long distance call when placed.
Pubert
I'm a Participant Level 1

I guess I was lucky yesterday. After I got the pop up to contact your carrier. I chatted with fido. They have added a code to my account. Restarted my iPhone. Worked like a charm.
KevinBroten