iOS wifi calling

iOS wifi calling

iOS wifi calling

SOLVED
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

iOS wifi calling

With apple announcing wifi calling with iOS 8 and Rogers announcing they will support this feature, will fido also support it? I understand that Fido is now often treated as the ugly stepchild and left out of certain features (Rogers One Number for example) but since this is an OS feature, it'd be nice if we weren't left out in cold this time.

Accepted Solution

Re: iOS wifi calling

Solved by I'm a Contributor Level 2 KevinBroten

i called fido and it looks like on the 16th they will do a carrier update to enable wifi calling for pre-paid monthly users. It will use texts and talk time from plan.

I'm currently already running iOS 9.1 so hopefully I will get the service enabled quickly. 

I only get 2g at one bar in my apartment. and need to use wifi for data.

View solution in context
102 REPLIES 102

Hey jotremb!

We're aware that some customers are experiencing issues enabling WiFi Calling and our technicians are investigating the cause and working on getting this resolved as soon as possible. 

I'll send you a PM so that I can forward them your example. 

KevinBroten
I'm a Contributor Level 2

@FidoAmanda Do you know if the technical issues are limited to a small customer base, or is a broader issue affecting all or many customers wishing to use the service?

It should also be noted that on a side issue to this, Carrier Fido 21.5 which is issued to iPhone users that are developers using iOS 9.1 Beta does not include the WiFi calling feature for the handsets. This means any developers and insider preview members can not access the service. They must downgrade to factory, and reinstall to 9.0 with carrier Fido 21.1 to access the features.

KevinBroten