iOS wifi calling

iOS wifi calling

iOS wifi calling

SOLVED
I'm an Expert Level 2

iOS wifi calling

With apple announcing wifi calling with iOS 8 and Rogers announcing they will support this feature, will fido also support it? I understand that Fido is now often treated as the ugly stepchild and left out of certain features (Rogers One Number for example) but since this is an OS feature, it'd be nice if we weren't left out in cold this time.

Accepted Solution

Re: iOS wifi calling

Solved by I'm a Contributor Level 2 KevinBroten

i called fido and it looks like on the 16th they will do a carrier update to enable wifi calling for pre-paid monthly users. It will use texts and talk time from plan.

I'm currently already running iOS 9.1 so hopefully I will get the service enabled quickly. 

I only get 2g at one bar in my apartment. and need to use wifi for data.

View solution in context
102 REPLIES 102
I'm a Contributor Level 2

Can't configure E911 stage of the Wifi Calling.

Get the Error " To Allow Wi-Fi calling on this account, contact your carrier."

Called in to support and we have been trying to get past this point. No luck so far.

They escalated to Tier 2, which found a backend service issues. And they further escalated. 24-48hours est time for resolution.

@KevinBroten wrote:

They escalated to Tier 2, which found a backend service issues. And they further escalated. 24-48hours est time for resolution.

Ugh. 

I was really looking forward to this.

IMG_0002.PNG

They had to manually add SoC for WiFi Calling to my account on request. Was not automaticaly added. WiFi Calling now shows up on My Account as an Addon. But the above picture is what I still get when trying to activate.

Keep us posted!

Let us know how it goes KevinBroten!

Sad no update to enable wifi calling yet.

Model (ME493C/A),

iOS (13B5110e), 

Carrier (fido 21.5) 

Settings -> Phone still does not have option for WiFi Calling. Sad

@KevinBroten wrote:

Model (ME493C/A),

iOS (13B5110e),