iOS wifi calling

Service interruption

An update for our valued customers: We know you depend on us and on April 19, we let you down - for this we are truly sorry. You won’t be charged for your wireless services that were impacted on Monday, April 19. A credit equivalent to that day's wireless service fee will be applied to your May bill. This will be done automatically & no action is required by you.

Click here to read more

iOS wifi calling

iOS wifi calling

SOLVED
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

iOS wifi calling

With apple announcing wifi calling with iOS 8 and Rogers announcing they will support this feature, will fido also support it? I understand that Fido is now often treated as the ugly stepchild and left out of certain features (Rogers One Number for example) but since this is an OS feature, it'd be nice if we weren't left out in cold this time.

Accepted Solution

Re: iOS wifi calling

Solved by I'm a Contributor Level 2 KevinBroten

i called fido and it looks like on the 16th they will do a carrier update to enable wifi calling for pre-paid monthly users. It will use texts and talk time from plan.

I'm currently already running iOS 9.1 so hopefully I will get the service enabled quickly. 

I only get 2g at one bar in my apartment. and need to use wifi for data.

View solution in context
102 REPLIES 102
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

Today's the day. Any word?
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

Any word on this? I know it's generally corporate policy not to discuss upcoming products and services but in this case one half of the company (Rogers) has already formally acknowledged they will support it. Any word from the Fido side of the house?

Sorry 10yearfido,

No word here as of yet. I`ll keep you posted

hmv76
I'm a Participant Level 3

Just wondering if there was any update?  Thanks!

xero9
I'm a Contributor Level 1

I'd like to know too..  iOS 8 will be out in 2 weeks or so.  Would be nice to know FIdo's plans at this point.

FidoRachel