caller id shows a 1 in front of my new 437 number

snorlax141
Fido Employee

I have two fido LG G3 phones.  One with a 416 number and one with a new 437 number.  Both are local Toronto numbers.  When I receive calls from these phones at home (in 905), the 416 number is displayed as 416 xxx xxxx while the 437 number is displayed as 1 437 xxx xxxx.  The extra 1 won't allow a direct call back because the 1 is not required for a local call from a land line phone.  How do I fix this? 

10 REPLIES 10
Cawtau
Senior MVP

Hello Snorlax141,

Welcome to the community!

**edit* deleted because information posted was incorrect as per Paolo below**

Cheers

Paolo
I'm an Expert Level 2

Hey guys, I am interpreting snorlax141's post differently.

He mentioned when he calls from ONE of his cellphones TO HIS HOME (905) so im interpreting that he is placing a call from his CELL to his LANDLINE, He sees the 1 infront of the incoming number, ON HIS HOME CALL DISPLAY.  He might possibly be with a provider like Bell Canada for home phone, which as far as I'm aware, to call local numbers you can NOT place the 1 infront of a local exchange or the call will not go thru.

Since this is happening on his phone with 437 area code and 437 is indeed a Toronto 416 overlay, it is a valid problem.  His landline needs to receive the incoming call display WITHOUT the 1 prefix, its possible since the 437 area code is so new, its likely Fido's basic health check for new exchanges does not normally test for the Caller ID length on landline exchanges.

Paulo,

You have it correct.  From a 437 cell to a Bell 905 home phone.  Both a Vtech and Panasonic home phone at the 905 number show the extra one.  Calls from my other 416 cell do not show the extra one.  So what is the concensus?  Is it likely a Bell problem because 437 is a new Toronto local number?  I just expect fido, bell, vtech and panasonic to all pass the buck and say it is the other guys problem.

Paolo
I'm an Expert Level 2