Stacked contracts or not: when does the new term start?

I'm an Expert Level 2
I'm an Expert Level 2

Stacked contracts or not: when does the new term start?

My understanding when the iPhone 4 launched, was originally that contracts would not stack and was told this by a Fido customer service. This was quickly corrected on Rogers redboard to say that Fido customers' contracts would stack, with the new term beginning when the old contract ended.

Recently I have seen a copy of a Fido Sales Central Bulletin that specifically states that contracts will not stack for iPhone 4 upgraders that are in their last 14 months, but my understanding is that Customer Care has not yet received this information. Can someone please confirm this? And if this is the case, I would like to be assured that I can call in and have my contract start and expiration dates corrected. 

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 1 of 4
I'm a Participant Level 2 kagehoshi
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: Stacked contracts or not: when does the new term start?

I'd like to know that too. When I upgraded to my iPhone 4, I had less than 12 months left on my contract (unsubsidized by the way) and was told that the contracts would stack. Afterwards I found out about the new law on cell phone contracts (I live in Quebec) and was planning on calling Fido to cancel my unsubsidized contract and start my 3yr iPhone 4 contract (which was supposed to start when my current contract ends) since they now cannot charge an ECF on unsubsidized contracts. However, if it is true that Fido is not going to stack contracts, that would save me a lot of trouble and phone calls.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 2 of 4
Highlighted
I'm a Contributor Level 1 Rune
I'm a Contributor Level 1

Hello!

When a customer renews thier agreement, the new agreement starts as of the old agreement. This has been the usual policy for a long time.