Not getting LTE on unlocked Xperia M4

SOLVED
Sunil876
I'm a Contributor Level 1

Hi,

I am new to fido, I am using Sony Expira M4 unlocked phone. My problem is that I am not getting LTE service. In BYOP it is not mentioned anywhere that I will no get LTE service if I am using a unlocked phone. Now I have to wait for 90 days for new phone. I am really disappointed.

Accepted Solution

Re: Not getting LTE on unlocked Xperia M4

Solved by MVP MVP

If you go to the network type/mode what does it say in there.

*Edited title

View solution in context
13 REPLIES 13
Cawtau
Senior MVP

@Sunil876 wrote:

Hi,

I am new to fido, I am using Sony Expira M4 unlocked phone. My problem is that I am not getting LTE service. In BYOP it is not mentioned anywhere that I will no get LTE service if I am using a unlocked phone. Now I have to wait for 90 days for new phone. I am really disappointed.

Hello Sunil876,

Welcome to the community!

Have you verified whether your APN settings are correct? This community member was having issues after an update but was able to get LTE working after inputing the correct settings (see here).

Are you in an area covered by LTE?

Many people are able to access the LTE network with unlocked phones providing their phones have compatible bands/frequencies. What version of the M4 do you have? According to GSMArena, some of the versions have limited compatible LTE bands/frequencies. You can verify the compatible bands/frequencies here. Coverage would depend on the bands/frequencies of your surrounding towers. You can get an idea of those towers here

Hope this helps Smiley

Cheers

*Edited title

Sunil876

Hi,

Thank you for the sudden  reply, My APN settings are exactly same as you provided and the device Sony Expira Aqua M4 meets all the ban frequencies and finally I am just 50 M away from rogers tower still I am not getting LTE service. Is there any other phone setting have to be change in my phone?

*Edited title

Hello again,