Local Calling Areas and zones?

SOLVED
I'm an Expert Level 2

Can someone explain how Fido zones work and how local calling areas work, as far as long distance and out of zone charges work?

Accepted Solution

Re: Local Calling Areas and zones?

Solved by Former Moderator FidoJudhy

Hello 10yearfido,

CityFido zones are pre-determined zones for specific areas. While on a CityFido plan, the plan's included minutes can only be used within that CityFido zone. If you are out of that zone, you are automatically billed for out of zone minutes which are $0.25 each. Please note that when you are on a CityFido plan within a CityFido zone placing a call to a different local calling area which is also within the same CityFido zone, long distance charges will still apply. No long distance charges are included.

You can find maps for the CityFido zones by clicking here. Once you are on that page, click on View details and coverage under the CityFido plans and then on Zones to see all the available zones.

As for the local calling areas, with your wireless phone, calls are defined as local or long distance based on local calling areas. Your location at the time of the call, your wireless phone number and the phone number called are all important factors in determining local calling areas and wireless long distance.

Let's say your local calling area is Toronto.

Basically, if you are in Toronto, calling a Toronto number, airtime only will be used. If you are in Toronto receiving a call, airtime only will be used. If you are, let's say, in Vancouver calling a Vancouver number, airtime only will be used. If you are in Vancouver receiving a call, airtime is deducted but you would be charged long distance. If you are in Vancouver or in Toronto calling a different local calling area, airtime is deducted but you would be charged long distance.

You can find more information on local calling areas by clicking here.

I hope this helps! Smiley

View solution in context
25 REPLIES 25