LTE band coverage

Reply
I'm a Participant Level 2 galaxyw
I'm a Participant Level 2

LTE band coverage

I recently got a new phone that uses LTE band of 1800 and 2600.

 

I understand that Fido network uses LTE band of 2100/2600. So I am wondering if my new phone can work with Fido LTE even though it will only work on one of the two band.

 

 

 

Accepted Solution

Re: LTE band coverage

Hey everyone! 

 

I know this post is kind of old but I would like to provide so up-to-date information about this in case anyone were to come across this and had a similar inquiry. Smiley

 

When using an unlocked phone on the Fido network, your device does not need to be compatible with all the frequencies that Fido uses for LTE. In order to access Fido's LTE network, the device must be compatible with one or more of the following:

  • 700 MHz on Band 17;
  • 1700/2100 MHz on Band 4;
  • 2600 MHz on Band 7.

Since the device that you are inquiring about has access to the 2600 MHz frequency on Band 7, it will have access to LTE on the Fido network, however,  since the device is only able to access one of the frequencies that Fido uses for LTE, the availability of the LTE connection will be dependent on your location and the LTE band offered in that location. 

 

The 1700/2100 MHz frequency on Band 4 is the most widely used for Fido's LTE network;  this frequency is used for the LTE network on all of Fido's coverage, and the 700 MHz frequency (Band 17) and 2600 MHz frequency (Band 7) are only offered in select locations.

 

I hope this helps! 

 

View solution in context
Flag this to a Moderator
Message 1 of 12
3,746 Views
I'm a Contributor Level 1 gmoffatt
I'm a Contributor Level 1

Re: LTE band coverage

My phone only has 2600 MHz and I get LTE.  It's patchy, but it's cool when it's there.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 2 of 12
2,769 Views
I'm a Participant Level 2 galaxyw
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: LTE band coverage

Is it patchy because you can only get access to 2600 frequency? If so, I guess certain area uses 2100, while other uses 2600?
Flag this to a Moderator
Message 3 of 12
2,758 Views
I'm a Contributor Level 1 gmoffatt
I'm a Contributor Level 1

Re: LTE band coverage

I don't know the answer to that.

 

Rogers has apparently deployed 2600 MHz everywhere it has LTE, but I don't know if that's just "by market", or on a tower-by-tower basis.  Second, the higher frequency supposedly supports a higher data speed, but lower range and building penetration, so that could be a factor too.  In fact, I think it's really dependent on where you're standing - I get a good LTE signal on one side of the building where I work, but none on the other.

 

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 4 of 12
2,754 Views
Fido Employee Amanda1
Fido Employee
Solution

Re: LTE band coverage

Hey everyone! 

 

I know this post is kind of old but I would like to provide so up-to-date information about this in case anyone were to come across this and had a similar inquiry. Smiley

 

When using an unlocked phone on the Fido network, your device does not need to be compatible with all the frequencies that Fido uses for LTE. In order to access Fido's LTE network, the device must be compatible with one or more of the following:

  • 700 MHz on Band 17;
  • 1700/2100 MHz on Band 4;
  • 2600 MHz on Band 7.

Since the device that you are inquiring about has access to the 2600 MHz frequency on Band 7, it will have access to LTE on the Fido network, however,  since the device is only able to access one of the frequencies that Fido uses for LTE, the availability of the LTE connection will be dependent on your location and the LTE band offered in that location. 

 

The 1700/2100 MHz frequency on Band 4 is the most widely used for Fido's LTE network;  this frequency is used for the LTE network on all of Fido's coverage, and the 700 MHz frequency (Band 17) and 2600 MHz frequency (Band 7) are only offered in select locations.

 

I hope this helps! 

 



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 5 of 12
2,445 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 420guy
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: LTE band coverage

Thanks for the info!!!

 

Seems quite straight forward with your explanation, however i just wanted to make sure 

 

Can you tell me if these 3 phones will work or not:

 

Phone 1: GSM850, GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS850 (B5), UMTS900 (B8), UMTS1700/2100 (B4), UMTS1900 (B2), UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE900 (B8), LTE800 (B20)

 

Phone 2: GSM850, GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS850 (B5), UMTS900 (B8), UMTS1900 (B2), UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE800 (B20)

 

Phone 3: GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE800 (B20), TD-LTE2300 (B40)

 

Thanks Smiley

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 6 of 12
2,398 Views
Former Moderator FidoMatt
Former Moderator

Re: LTE band coverage

You would be able to get 3 with these phones, but with access to only band 7 on LTE you would probably get limited LTE reception. 


@420guy wrote:

Thanks for the info!!!

 

Seems quite straight forward with your explanation, however i just wanted to make sure 

 

Can you tell me if these 3 phones will work or not:

 

Phone 1: GSM850, GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS850 (B5), UMTS900 (B8), UMTS1700/2100 (B4), UMTS1900 (B2), UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE900 (B8), LTE800 (B20)

 

Phone 2: GSM850, GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS850 (B5), UMTS900 (B8), UMTS1900 (B2), UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE800 (B20)

 

Phone 3: GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE800 (B20), TD-LTE2300 (B40)

 

Thanks Smiley


 



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 7 of 12
2,393 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 420guy
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: LTE band coverage


@FidoMatt wrote:

You would be able to get 3 with these phones, but with access to only band 7 on LTE you would probably get limited LTE reception. 


@420guy wrote:

Thanks for the info!!!

 

Seems quite straight forward with your explanation, however i just wanted to make sure 

 

Can you tell me if these 3 phones will work or not:

 

Phone 1: GSM850, GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS850 (B5), UMTS900 (B8), UMTS1700/2100 (B4), UMTS1900 (B2), UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE900 (B8), LTE800 (B20)

 

Phone 2: GSM850, GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS850 (B5), UMTS900 (B8), UMTS1900 (B2), UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE800 (B20)

 

Phone 3: GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900, UMTS2100 (B1), LTE2100 (B1), LTE1800 (B3), LTE2600 (B7), LTE800 (B20), TD-LTE2300 (B40)

 

Thanks Smiley


 


Limted how?

 

I am in Toronto and Durham....

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 8 of 12
2,387 Views
Former Moderator FidoMatt
Former Moderator

Re: LTE band coverage

Our main band or LTE is band 4. We are also slowly implementing band 17 (700MHz) starting out west and moving accross the country. 

 

2600MHz on band 7 is not our main LTE band so you may not get optimal LTE coverage. 



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 9 of 12
2,379 Views
I'm a Participant Level 3 420guy
I'm a Participant Level 3

Re: LTE band coverage


@FidoMatt wrote:

Our main band or LTE is band 4. We are also slowly implementing band 17 (700MHz) starting out west and moving accross the country. 

 

2600MHz on band 7 is not our main LTE band so you may not get optimal LTE coverage. 


Well not sure if you are correct as i double checked with someone at fido and they said that it would work with no problem...

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 10 of 12
2,334 Views
MVP
MVP

Re: LTE band coverage


@420guy wrote:

@FidoMatt wrote:

Our main band or LTE is band 4. We are also slowly implementing band 17 (700MHz) starting out west and moving accross the country. 

 

2600MHz on band 7 is not our main LTE band so you may not get optimal LTE coverage. 


Well not sure if you are correct as i double checked with someone at fido and they said that it would work with no problem...


Hello 420guy,

 

  I'm glad to see you're researching your new phone.

 

  My take? I would say that phones 1 and 2 would be similar in that they both would be fully compatible with FIdo/Rogers' 2G and '3G' networks. They both also only have one compatible LTE frequency (2600MHz).

 

  Phone 3 only has one of the compatible frequencies for 2G (1900MHz) and no compatible '3G' frequencies. That phone also only has one compatible LTE frequency (2600MHz). From personal experience, I would not recommend phone 3.

 

  With regards to LTE, I would agree with what Amanda and FidoMatt said above. Your coverage would be limited depending on the frequencies of the surrounding towers. Not all towers have all of the frequencies.

 

   Here's a screenshot from http://www.ertyu.org/steven_nikkel/cancellsites.html showing some of the towers in the Durham area. Towers.jpg Notice how the highlighted tower only shows 850MHz and 2100MHz? None of the other towers in the area seem to have LTE. One could argue the accuracy of such maps, but if correct, none of those phones would get LTE in Durham.

 

   I know you 'double-checked' with someone at Fido, but they might not always have the best information at hand. When I started posting on here, the people at the Fido stores did not have a clue as to LTE frequencies. The best they could offer me was to try a LTE SIM to see if my potential phone would work. Granted, they probably are a little better informed now than they were back then. All I am saying is that, if LTE coverage is important to you, you might want to triple-check, or even quadruple-check before investing in a phone based on one person saying it would work 'no problem'. It should work, yes, but that would depend on where you are.

 

  Hope this helps Smiley

 

Cheers

 



Flag this to a Moderator
Message 11 of 12
1,663 Views
Highlighted
I'm a Participant Level 2 420_guy
I'm a Participant Level 2

Re: LTE band coverage


@Cawtau wrote:

@420guy wrote:

@FidoMatt wrote:

Our main band or LTE is band 4. We are also slowly implementing band 17 (700MHz) starting out west and moving accross the country. 

 

2600MHz on band 7 is not our main LTE band so you may not get optimal LTE coverage. 


Well not sure if you are correct as i double checked with someone at fido and they said that it would work with no problem...


Hello 420guy,

 

  I'm glad to see you're researching your new phone.

 

  My take? I would say that phones 1 and 2 would be similar in that they both would be fully compatible with FIdo/Rogers' 2G and '3G' networks. They both also only have one compatible LTE frequency (2600MHz).

 

  Phone 3 only has one of the compatible frequencies for 2G (1900MHz) and no compatible '3G' frequencies. That phone also only has one compatible LTE frequency (2600MHz). From personal experience, I would not recommend phone 3.

 

  With regards to LTE, I would agree with what Amanda and FidoMatt said above. Your coverage would be limited depending on the frequencies of the surrounding towers. Not all towers have all of the frequencies.

 

   Here's a screenshot from http://www.ertyu.org/steven_nikkel/cancellsites.html showing some of the towers in the Durham area. Towers.jpg Notice how the highlighted tower only shows 850MHz and 2100MHz? None of the other towers in the area seem to have LTE. One could argue the accuracy of such maps, but if correct, none of those phones would get LTE in Durham.

 

   I know you 'double-checked' with someone at Fido, but they might not always have the best information at hand. When I started posting on here, the people at the Fido stores did not have a clue as to LTE frequencies. The best they could offer me was to try a LTE SIM to see if my potential phone would work. Granted, they probably are a little better informed now than they were back then. All I am saying is that, if LTE coverage is important to you, you might want to triple-check, or even quadruple-check before investing in a phone based on one person saying it would work 'no problem'. It should work, yes, but that would depend on where you are.

 

  Hope this helps Smiley

 

Cheers

 


Yes i always research anything im buying. I do my due dillagence

Yes even thought phones 1 and 2 seems to be the best bet. Where i live around Durham the towers does support 2600

The photo that you have shown of those towers are pretty north which i never go to.

All towers around whitby durham seems to all have 2600MHz

Thanks again for the input and always nice to come somewhere online and find info from others.

Smiley

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 12 of 12
1,612 Views