Incoming calls with data-only plan

SOLVED
bravodanny
I'm a Participant Level 1

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I am an exchange student in Canada who just have become your customer last month by purchasing the data plan $15 with 3GB. However, when I received my bill today I am shocked and disappointed. It’s 84.17 dollars which is unbelievable for me. I checked my bill and it said the extra charge was from the addition usage of incoming call. I was so surprised as your stuff told me that the incoming call is FREE OF CHARGE. But I will be charged when I call someone instead of receiving a call. However, 3 incoming calls was charged which cost 60.15. I am extremely disappointed about this as your stuff TOLD me that I can receive call. It’s a TRAP.

The reason why I choose your company is because the plan is cheap and affordable as I am just a student. Now, I don’t know how should I explain to my parents about this terrible thing. I hope you can help me to come up with some solution about this. Can you help to exclude the charge of that three incoming calls?

Here is my information

Mobile: *********

I looking forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Danny

Accepted Solution

Re: Incoming calls with data-only plan

Solved by Senior MVP Senior MVP

Hello Bravodanny,

Welcome to the community!

I'm sorry you received such a surprise. It's unfortunate that you were given inaccurate information. You will be charged for any calls you make or receive since the plan does not include any call minutes or SMS/MMS. The rates are $1 per minute for your calls and Long Distance (LD) calling at 45¢ per minute within Canada (see here).

Any calls you receive will be considered local if you are within your incoming local calling area (LCA) -- regardless of where the calls originated (internationally or domestically).