Idea: Smartphone contracts without a data addon?

I'm Qualified Level 3
I'm Qualified Level 3

Idea: Smartphone contracts without a data addon?

It is very evident in the Fido community , that many customers would like a smartphone, such as the iPhone, without a data plan. They are willing to sign a 3-year contract but not for a data addon, just a monthly talk and text plan. I suggest offering less subsized pricing for those who want this option. For example, $99 for the iPhone on a 3-year contract with a data addon, and say $299 for a 3-year contract without having a data plan. The latter will probably be higher because the contract would be less profitable, but it is a relevant subject that many Fido customers are requesting these days. Or even offering subsized pricing with the $10 flex data plan. How about it?

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 1 of 6
I'm an Expert Level 2
I'm an Expert Level 2

Re: Idea: Smartphone contracts without a data addon?

the concept is good, but you can;t just come up with a price and expect that price to be the one they market it . there is a whole lot of research involved in marketing so what they could do is 3 years with voice/data terms, but 5 year contract with voice only term,  that is more realistic..  the longer voice term would make up for the data subsidy lost

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 2 of 6
Highlighted
I'm Qualified Level 1
I'm Qualified Level 1