Fido outgoing mail server

SOLVED
itsrebecca
I'm a Participant Level 1

Does anyone know what the outgoing mail server is for fido. Trying to set it up on my 3G.

Accepted Solution

Re: Fido outgoing mail server

Solved by I'm a Participant Level 1 theoux

I had the same problem - but found a solution.

It was a big headache. 

I called fido a few times and they didn't know anything about how to resolve this. 

They should know that they should tell us their outgoing server.

Called godaddy - they said that the outgoing server must need to be changed by fido.

The solution:

Change outgoing server to

gprs.fido.ca 

Then change the port to 25.  No SSL. 

It worked.  Try it.  I hope it does for you.

Previously they had me try port 80, 465, and a few others, SSL on and off, and nothing worked.

Good luck.

View solution in context
15 REPLIES 15
VanillaKiss

How about incoming settings??
Paolo
I'm an Expert Level 2

incoming mail server settings are not specific to fido, they depend on the email provider of the email address you are using on your phone,. for example, if your setting up a Shaw cable email, then you would get the incoming email settings from Shaw,  if u are setting up a cogeco email on yoru fido phone then u get the incoming server settings from yup you guessed it, Cogeco, if your setting up yahoo or gmail or outlook, you get the incoming server settings from those providers respectively and not fido.

hope this help

mmitzi123

Since customer service at FIDO has no idea how to fix this problem here you go...

use gprs.fido.ca with port 25.
no SSL, no username, no password.

Fido3457

Perfect works like a charm.  Thanks.

theoux

I had the same problem - but found a solution.

It was a big headache. 

I called fido a few times and they didn't know anything about how to resolve this. 

They should know that they should tell us their outgoing server.

Called godaddy - they said that the outgoing server must need to be changed by fido.

The solution: