Fido dollars towards accessories?

SOLVED
KyleG
I'm a Participant Level 3

Question is in the topic, can you use your fido dollars for accessories like headphones or cases?

Thanks.

Accepted Solution

Re: Fido dollars towards accessories?

Solved by I'm an Expert Level 2

Nope. You can use them to buy phones, if you take a contract (required $25 hardware fee can not be paid with them). You can use them to pay for a trial period for add-ons like caller id, for 2 months. Or if you are a prepaid customer you can use them to buy airtime.

View solution in context
17 REPLIES 17
eeyore
I'm a Participant Level 1

Question about FidoDollars - I am on a monthly plan with about $150 fido dollars. Can I add a new prepaid line under my account and use my fido dollars to pay towards the new SIM card and prepaid plans by the month? Thanks.
FidoMatt
Former Moderator

Hi Eeyore, 

You can get the SIM card for the prepaid service using the Fido Dollars, but you won't be able to purchase airtime with the Fido Dollars afterwards sicne they can't be transferred from one account to the other. 

Andre62

In other words Ihave a decent plan, I dont travel outside canada and do not need any extra addons, so FIDO DOLLARS SUCK!!

Wufai
I'm Qualified Level 3

Here's another take on Fidodollars and my past experience.

I was a long time Fido user back when the Fidodollars sucked, I accumulated a lot of FD and for a while I thought I would leave Fido, spend it all on expensive accessories I don't really need and turned out  I didn't leave Fido after all. A few years later a great plan from Fido came out and I regreted having spent those FD's on phone batteries where instead I could reduce my phone subsidy further.

Case in point, I know FD sucks right now, but keep them and you will never know when you will be gratful in the future!

FidoUser12345

14 years with fido and yeah its pretty useless. Fido has lost a lot of good products and services.

Hey Andre62,