Fido afilliated with Rogers?

SOLVED
mistyboo2
I'm a Participant Level 1

Just wondering,is fido afilliated with Rogers?

Accepted Solution

Re: Fido afilliated with Rogers?

Solved by MVP MVP
Hi

Fido is owned by Rogers but Fido remains a separate entity from Rogers.
View solution in context
6 REPLIES 6
KAPABLE-K
MVP

Hi

Fido is owned by Rogers but Fido remains a separate entity from Rogers.

deafwiggle
I'm a Contributor Level 1

I changed my provider from Rogers to Fido during Aug 2016. While doing so, I attempted to use the same email address for my Fido online account as I was using for Rogers, and Fido would not allow it (can't remember exact wording but Fido indicated it was already in use).

So, it appears that Fido and Rogers at least share user account information.

NB While doing this switch, I was told by a Fido rep that my Fido SIMs would (likely) work on Rogers-locked cell phones. I have not (yet) tried to do this, so cannot verify this either way.

Paolo
I'm an Expert Level 2

I know for a fact Fido sim did not work in a Rogers phone and vice a versa for myself.  As for the Rogers and Fido online Portals, they probably wanted to consolidate and provide one unified portal for both companies with seperate branding rather than pay to keep 2 of them running and 2x the maintenance and 2x the cost to support and upgrade. makes sense, no? fido and rogers share a lot in common already like the billing systems, HLR, antennas, etc.

FidoMaria
Former Moderator

Hi @deafwiggle & welcome to the Community!

Using your old Rogers username would not prevent you from using it with Fido. When you activate an account with Fido, your e-mail address is automatically registered, and we send you a link to complete the registration on Fido.ca. This may be why you were getting a message that the e-mail address was already in use.

As for using a Fido SIM in a Rogers phone, the phone would need to be unlocked.

Hope this helps. Cheers! Smiley

deafwiggle