Extreme text Messaging from Fido

SOLVED
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

Fido.ca say it can be managed under My Account, but I don't see anything there.

https://www.fido.ca/web/content/messaging/extreme_text_messaging

Am I missing something? If my plan has US or international texting, will I be able to forward incoming texts to those regions or does SMS forwarding only work to Canadian numbers?

Accepted Solution

Re: Extreme text Messaging from Fido

Solved by Moderator

Hello Sharonbuni.

To have access to extreme messages you can also text *xtreme* to 4716 and you will receive a SMS with a link. 

For details on specific features and set-ups, you can visit www.fido.ca/messaging.

Hope this helps Smiley

- FidoKenny

View solution in context
47 REPLIES 47
kelly1
I'm a Participant Level 3

I know this thread is over a year old, but did anyone ever figure out how to enable Extreme Text Messaging when your phone does NOT have wi-fi?

I just have a plain old mobile phone that I use for calling and SMS.  No web stuff. 

The Fido web site suggests you can set it up if you text XTREME to a certain number - so I did, and it sent me back a URL, which I opened on my computer web browser since I don't have internet on my phone.  No good.

Am I missing something really obvious? 

@kelly1 wrote:

I know this thread is over a year old, but did anyone ever figure out how to enable Extreme Text Messaging when your phone does NOT have wi-fi?

I just have a plain old mobile phone that I use for calling and SMS.  No web stuff. 

The Fido web site suggests you can set it up if you text XTREME to a certain number - so I did, and it sent me back a URL, which I opened on my computer web browser since I don't have internet on my phone.  No good.

Am I missing something really obvious? 

Hey Kelly1!