Collect calls when roaming

SOLVED
1489fido
I'm a Participant Level 1

Hi,

During my trip to Asia last month I was stolen my credit card and call my bank and Visa at their collect call numbers from my Fido phone. However, I was charged for the calls. Does anyone know if that's normal? 

Accepted Solution

Re: Collect calls when roaming

Solved by I'm an Expert Level 2
Collect calls only means they pick up any long distance charges for you. Has nothing, at all to do with roaming.

Just as the call would cost you airtime minutes in Canada, you will be charged roaming when outside Canada. But they'll pick up the LD charges.
View solution in context
8 REPLIES 8
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

Collect calls only means they pick up any long distance charges for you. Has nothing, at all to do with roaming.

Just as the call would cost you airtime minutes in Canada, you will be charged roaming when outside Canada. But they'll pick up the LD charges.

@10yearfido wrote:

Hello,

True. But in order for them to pick up the LD charges, you have to call them collect. That is, calling the (international) operator and having them make the collect call for you (may be automated). The receiver then has to accept the charges before call will connect. That is how they are different from toll-free numbers. Direct dialing call collect numbers is the same as dialing any other number. They are considered collect call numbers because the person answering the phone is willing accept the charges.

As I mentioned above, I'm not sure if collect calls can even be made from Fido or cellular phones in general. For it to work, the service provider operator needs to connect the call. I have a feeling many service providers do not have operators anymore. Collect calls may need to be made from landlines or payphones.

Cheers

Roskov
I'm Qualified Level 1

If you called the correct collect number then no it's not normal.