cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charged for Long Distance using WhatsApp

locktan
I'm a Participant Level 1

I am changing to another service provider because Fido has charged me for long distance call when I am using WhatsApp. Although the call through WhatsApp did not connect, I was still charged. Have been Fido customer for more than 15 years.

locktan

3 REPLIES 3

Mcgillstudent

Hi there, 
I am a long-time user of Fido. As a student, I pay a large bill for 6GB of data and calling per month. I make international calls almost daily through Whatsapp and for the first time, I noticed a $40 charge on my phone bill for a call that is not listed on my Whatsapp or my iPhone call list. Therefore, there is no evidence whats so ever that I've made this call. 

Upon calling Fido, the representatives could not explain why or how this has happened and refused to even try and explain how a Whatsapp call has been switched to Airtime without any notification or evidence that an international call was made. I had only called two local numbers on that day.  

I'm really concerned that switching app calls to airtime calls without notifying the customer is fraudulent and a problem with Fido as a service because Fido is the party charging the customer. 

I would appreciate it if someone from the Fido could provide a clear explanation of how Fido plans to handle this issue in the future and what its customers can do to prevent this from happening. I am highly disappointed that of how the customer representatives have handled this issue.  

Cawtau
Senior MVP Senior MVP
Senior MVP

Hello Locktan,

Welcome to the community!