Caller Display vs. Caller ID in Value Packs

SOLVED
Wartman
I'm a Participant Level 1

Caller Display vs. Caller ID in Value Packs

Hey there,

I have a 'Value Pack', which includes:

- Call Display with Name Display - Enhanced Voice Messaging - WhoCalled

I would like to know what 'Call Display with Name Display' is exactly. I am interested in seeing the names show up when I am being called/calling someone that I have in my contact book. I don't mind if I don't see the names/numbers of people who are calling if I don't have in my phone book.

Otherwise, 'WhoCalled' doesn't work. It says *8888 unknown everytime someone leaves me a message, whether I have the in my contact or not. Enhanced voice messaging isn't necessary for me right now.

So, the big Kahuna is that Call Display. Any help would be great! Thank you Smiley

-Paul

Accepted Solution

Re: Caller Display vs. Caller ID in Value Packs

Solved by I'm an Expert Level 2

Hi, this is a frequently asked question, infact one of my all time favourites.

In simple terms here it is in a nut shell:

CALL DISPLAY transmits the Number ONLY to your HANDSET

CALL DISPLAY W/ NAME DISPLAY transmitts both the NUMBER and NAME to your handset, PROVIDING YOUR HANSET SUPPORTS THIS AND IS COMPATIBLE WITH IT.

NOW THE MOST IMPORTANT PART, IF YOU STORE THE NAME AND NUMBER OF A CONTACT IN YOUR PHONE, THEN IT DOES NOT MATTER WHICH ONE OF THE TWO CALL DISPLAYS you can get, because your PHONE (MOST OF THE TIME) WILL OVERRIDE THE NAME DISPLAY WITH THE NAME PROGRAMMED IN YOUR PHONE BOOK, INSTEAD OF THE ONE BEING TRANSMITTED FROM THE NETWORK.

In a nut shell, it works the EXACT SAME WAY the Call Display / Name Display feature on Bell Canada Landlines work.

Senario 1,  you only pay for call display,  and i call you, you will only see MY NUMBER,  You will NOT see my name because you are not paying for the feature and you did not have me in your phone book to begin with.