CALLS NOT ALLOWED????

Highlighted
I'm a Participant Level 3

CALLS NOT ALLOWED????

Anyone have any idea why fido phone would not allow calls??? I have an old cell for my home phone. i am totally on top of my bills and owe nothing but today i can't call anyone. after i dial the number a message pops up saying calls not allowed???

my cell is an old cheap version but i haven't dropped it or used it or nothing werid happened to it and i am not able to use my phone at all.

Anyone have any idea why my phone would stop working? or how to fix it?

any advice much apprechiated

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 1 of 6
Highlighted
I'm an Expert Level 2
I'm an Expert Level 2

Re: CALLS NOT ALLOWED????

2 things to check, does your phone have service? do you see the fido alpha tag?  also does your phone show an actual signal bar?  the calls not allowed sometimes means your not connected to fidos network so check the 2 things i mentioned, secondly, you can go into the networks menu of your phone, choose manual network scan, choose fido (or rogers might display if you have a very old phone/sim card, but its still the same network so dont worry) and select it, see if your phone registers, it might need a few seconds and try again, otherwise you can try your fido sim in a different handset and see if it works, if calls are working then you might have a handset problem.

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 2 of 6
Highlighted

how do i check if i have fido service?? and what are alpha tags? i will check the fido network thing, if i can figure it out but i don't have bars on the signal.

Thanks

Flag this to a Moderator
Message 3 of 6
Highlighted
I'm an Expert Level 2
I'm an Expert Level 2