Are fido dollars applied before or after taxes on purchases?

SOLVED
10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

Accepted Solution

Re: Are fido dollars applied before or after taxes on purchases?

Solved by Fido Employee fidoOlivier

Hi 

once & after taxes are applied on the price of the device being purchase.

As 

Cheers.

View solution in context
5 REPLIES 5
JasonB
I'm Experienced Level 1

Fido Rewards are applied after the sale of the handset.

Example:

You have $100 in Fido Rewards.

IPHONE4(16GB) - $649 + ( Lets use QC tax ) GST: $32.45 + QST: $57.92 = $739.27

Now we remove the agreement credit: $739.27 - $490 = $249.27

Now we take the Fido rewards and remove them: $249.27 - $100

Phone is $149.27

I am a Fido employee, but my comments are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Fido or its affiliates.

Je suis un(e) employé(e) de Fido mais mes commentaires sont les miens et ne reflètent pas nécessairement le point de vue de Fido ou d’une société de son groupe.

Hi 

once & after taxes are applied on the price of the device being purchase.

As 

Cheers.

Hi,

JasonB's calculation is incorrect. This is just a clarification on the calculation:

1. Subsidy is deducted from regular in market price before taxes
  2. Taxes are calculated on this amount
  3. Fido Dollars are decucted on this final amount after the taxes

Example:

I got the LG G3 last week. It was listed at $50. So I was charged $57.49 after taxes in Quebec. Therefore $57.49 Fido Dollars were deducted from my Fido Dollars balance.