Almost time to move on

Almost time to move on

Almost time to move on

10yearfido
I'm an Expert Level 2

Almost time to move on

I've been with Fido since around 2000. There have been ups and downs, as there are with any business relationship. But I think it is almost time to move on. The value of Fido has really gone downhill, especially over the last few years. There were always excuses, like the move to 2 years terms, which resulted in massive price increases even though the actual impact to the carriers was minimal; or actually blaming the strong US dollar for another round of huge price hikes. Or that it's Tuesday rate hike day (just kidding, unfortunately, it's as valid as most of the other excuses).

I understand that this behaviour has not been unique to Fido. All of the big carriers and their flanker brands, in areas not services by another major independent carrier, like Manitoba, Saskatchewan or Thunder Bay, have acted a bit like pigs at a trough, gorging themselves on price hikes and diminishing value. But since I am a Fido customer and have been for so long, I felt the need to express my feeling here. 

My plan has been the same for about 5-6 years, yet over that time the monthly price has almost doubled. There is simply no reasonable justification for that. Further, I was recently informed that my plan no longer qualifies for any subsidy on iPhones at all, so by time I add a full price phone, a part of which used to be included in the monthly fees, the effective cost for the same services and comparable devices has more than doubled. I was presented with the option of going to an even higher priced plan that would provide even less value in order to maintain the handset discount going forward. Not going to happen. I will not spend >$600 more per year to receive the same or less than I was previously.